Cristiano Ronaldo wins FIFA player-of-the-year award

Real Madrid’s Portugal striker Cristiano Ronaldo was crowned the best soccer player in the world for the second year running at Fifa’s The Best awards gala on Monday.

The four-time Ballon d’Or winner won a La Liga and Champions League double with the Madrid club this year, striking twice against Juventus in the European Cup final to help Real become the first team to retain the trophy in its current format.

Other FIFA Awards:

Lieke Martens wins Best Fifa Women’s Player.

Fifa XI is: Buffon; Marcelo, Bonucci, Ramos, Alves; Iniesta, Modric, Kroos; Neymar, Ronaldo, Messi.

Celtic win Fifa Fans Award.

Sarina Wiegman wins Best Fifa Women’s Coach.

Zinedine Zidane wins Best Male Coach.

Gigi Buffon wins Best Goalkeeper.

Olivier Giroud wins Puskas Award for best goal.