Republican village heads re-elected

Republican Anahit Hakobyan was re-elected as head of Torunk community in the Sunday vote.

Her main contender, non-partisan Margarita Grigoryan had withdrawn from the race before the election day.  Fifty-nine of the 119 eligible voters went to the polls on Sunday, with 56 casting their ballots for Anahit Hakobyan. She was first elected as head of the village in 2006.

In Nzdeh community, the acting Republican village head, Gegham Ohanyan was again the only candidate after non-partisan Armen Dovlatyan withdrew from the race. Sixty-eight of the 131 eligible voters participated in the election, with 41 voting for Ohanyan.

Armen Hovakimyyan, Sisian.